The Eugenio Beltrami Senior Scientist Prize: a M&MoCS prize for engineering scientist


2023 Prize Winners
  • Sauro Succi
  • Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia (IIT), Italia
  • Laudatio
2022 Prize Winners
2021 Prize Winners
2020 Prize Winners
  • Abdul Barakat
  • CNRS, Ecole Polytechnique, France
  • Announcement Laudatio
2019 Prize Winners
  • Saïd Ahzi
  • University of Strasbourg, France.
  • Announcement Laudatio
2018 Prize Winners
2017 Prize Winners
  • Anil Misra
  • The University of Kansas, U.S.A.
  • Laudatio


1. Prize establishment

“The Eugenio Beltrami Senior Scientist Prize”, in brief the Prize, will recognise international and scientific achievements reached in any field contributing to engineering applications.
Indispensable prerequisites for the appointment of the prize will be based on international recognition of published works, leadership and management of scientific projects (both national and international) and technology transfer.
The Selection Committee, as defined in Sec. 2, supports its choice with a written report which will be posted on the MEMOCS Center’s website (

2. Selection Committee

The Prize will be awarded by a Selection Committee composed of the MEMOCS director and at least two selected MEMOCS scientists covering significant role in MEMOCS.
For the first four years the two selected scientists are David Steigmann (as representative of MEMOCS Scientific Committee) and Yves Remond (as representative of MEMOCS Foundation).
The Selection Committee assigns the Prize on the basis of suggestions made by all the MEMOCS Com- missions and also by the previous winner of the Prize.
The Selection Committee will be chaired by a senior member in the role of first rank professor or equivalent.
The Prize will be awarded only by unanimous vote of the Selection Committee.
A member of MEMOCS designated by the director will write the minutes.

3. Recognition to the winners

The Prize will be awarded to no more than two scientists per year.
The winners will be expected to hold a plenary lecture at one of the International Conference organised by MEMOCS during the year on their research topics in order to expose their scientific achievements to the wider audience of younger researchers.

4. Award criteria

The Prize is devoted to senior researcher with at least ten years full time research activity after obtaining Ph.D.
The Selection Committee will determine the winner’s profound and extensive expertise in the quality of the scientific published work, projects managements and responsibilities, as well as national and international collaborations.
Technological transfer of the fundamental scientific work towards industrial applications will be important as well as transversal capacities to reach multi-disciplinary fields