International prize “Tullio Levi-Civita” for the Mathematical and Mechanical Sciences

2018 Prize Winners
2017 Prize Winners
2016 Prize Winners
2015 Prize Winners
2014 Prize Winners
2013 Prize Winners
2012 Prize Winners
  • Félix Darve
  • Grenoble Institute of Technology,
  • Laudatio
2011 Prize Winners
2010 Prize Winners
  • Lucio Russo
  • Università di Roma Tor Vergata, Italy
  • Laudatio


Art.1 Prize establishment

The International Prize “Tullio Levi-Civita” will recognize the high quality and the undisputed originality of the Scientific Research of eminent, Italian or foreign scientists.
Indispensable prerequisite for the appointment of the prize will be the determination of the International value of the research done by the winner. The Commission will explain the choice with a written report which will be issued on the foundation’s website.

Art. 2 Selection committee

The Prize will be awarded by a Selection Committee composed of three scientists appointed by the President. The Director of the School Tullio Levi-Civita will be part of the commission. The President of the Technical Scientific Committee of the Foundation will write the Minutes. The Committee will be chaired by a senior member in the role of first rank professor or equivalent.
Having read the report mentioned in Art.1 ,the Guarantee Board can propose to each winner to take part of the Selection Committee of the following editions.
The prize will be awarded only by unanimous vote of the Selection Committee.

Art.3 Recognition to the winners

The prize will be awarded to not more than two scientists per year. The prize consists in a sum of money specifically funded by the Assembly of the Foundation in each annual budget.
The winner will hold four master lectures in the School for Sciences and Technologies for Engineering in the town of Sperlonga ,organized by the Foundation. After having agreed with the School Director the topics and the schedules of lectures, the winner will teach in a course given at the School of Excellence Tullio Levi-Civita in Cisterna di Latina.

Art.4 Award criteria

The Selection Committee will determine the winner’s profound and extensive expertise in theoretical or applied mechanics or in mathematics. The International prize “Tullio Levi-Civita” will be awarded to scientists who have distinguished themselves for their innovative high- value results which will have to be considered as important by the International Scientific Community and have appeared both in scientific journals and in volumes with international distribution. The winner should have contributed to the formation of at least one young researcher.

Art.5 Ceremony

The prizes will be awarded with a public ceremony during the School of Science and Technology for engineers at Sperlonga by the President of the Foundation, who will read the reasons of the Selection Committee. The President of the Province will deliver the certificate to the winners.